When Linus Met Sally and Other Famous Fictional Couples

You have to be pretty hard-hearted to not get a least a little lump in your thought when you think of some of fictional couples. But have you ever stopped to think just how these crazy lovebirds ever got together? The answers may surprise you.

Linus Van Pelt and Sally Brown
According to the comic strip, Charlie Brown’s sister, Sally was born on May 26, 1959 where Charlie marked the occasion by passing out chocolate cigars to his friends. She grew up quickly. She took her first steps on August 22, 1960 and she fell in love with Linus, Lucy’s brother, on the next day. It was love at first sight, at least on her part. Sally has often referred to Linus as her “Sweet Baboo.” Her dedication to her man seems endless. She has missed out on “tricks and treats” by sitting in a pumpkin patch waiting for the Great Pumpkin and she was incensed that Linus would snub her a Valentine’s gift in favor for his teacher, Miss Othmar. Still, she clings hopelessly in love with the stripe …

48th Annual GMA Dove Awards Nominees Announced

2017 nominees for the 48th GMA Dove Awards
Top row L to R: Zach Williams, Lauren Daigle, Chris Tomlin.
Bottom row L to R: Crowder, Kirk Franklin, NEEDTOBREATHE


Both Zach Williams and Lauren Daigle are leading the pack of nominations for the 48th Annual GMA Dove Awards which were announced earlier today. Williams and Daigle lead artist nominations with five, followed by Chris Tomlin, Crowder, Kirk Franklin and NEEDTOBREATHE with four nods each. Top nominated writer/producer Wayne Haun scored six nods, and Bernie Herms and David Garcia have five nods each.

“I’m thrilled to celebrate another year of Dove Awards nominations!” GMA President Jackie Patillo stated. “Our artists and creatives sacrifice year-round to share their sound with the world. Our theme this year is Sound the Remedy; we believe the message of Gospel and Christian music offers God’s remedy to the world.”

The GMA Dove Awards celebrate the contributions of artists from every style of Christian/Gospel music. Nominees are determined by over 1,500 professional members, and winners will be voted on by the entire GMA membership of nearly 2,500. This year’s awards show will take place on Tuesday, October 17, 2017 at Lipscomb University’s in Nashville. Trinity Broadcasting Network (TBN) will exclusively air the awards show on Sunday, October 22.

Those in the running for awards this year include:

Song of the Year:
“Chain Breaker”, “Come Alive (Dry Bones)”, “Even If”, “Eye Of The Storm”, “Feel Invincible”, “Great Are You Lord”, “King Of The World”, “O Come to The Altar”, “The Lion And The Lamb”, “Thy Will”, “What A Beautiful Name”

Songwriter of the Year:
Bart Millard, Chris Tomlin, Hillary Scott, Kirk Franklin, Lauren Daigle

Contemporary Christian Artist of the Year:
Casting Crowns, Danny Gokey, Kari Jobe, NEEDTOBREATHE, Zach Williams

Artist of the Year:
Chris Tomlin, for KING & COUNTRY, Hillsong UNITED, MercyMe, TobyMac

New Artist of the Year:
Bri (Briana Babineaux), Micah Tyler, Social Club Misfits, Steven Malcom, Zach Williams

Rock/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year:
“Run Devil Run” – Crowder, “HARD LOVE (feat. Lauren Daigle)” – NEEDTOBREATHE, “Feel Invincible” – Skillet

Pop/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year:
“Priceless” – for KING & COUNTRY, “Come Alive (Dry Bones)” – Lauren Daigle, “Even If” – MercyMe, “Eye of the Storm (feat. GabeReal)”, “Chain Breaker” – Zach Williams

Contemporary Gospel/Urban Song of the Year:
“Trust In You” – Anthony Brown & Group therAPy, “Never Have To Be Alone” – CeCe Winans, “Father Jesus Spirit” – Fred Hammond, “My World Needs You” – Kirk Franklin, “Work It Out” – Tye Tribbett

Urban Worship Recorded Song of the Year:
“Victory Belongs To Jesus” – Todd Dulaney, “Joy” – VaShawn Mitchell, “Everlasting God” – William Murphy

Worship Song of the Year:
“Ever Be”, “The Lion And The Lamb”, “O Come To The Altar”, “What A Beautiful Name”, “Fierce”

Rock/Contemporary Album of the Year:
American Prodigal – Crowder, H A R D L O V E – NEEDTOBREATHE, Unleashed – Skillet

Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year:
The Very Next Thing – Casting Crowns, Rise – Danny Gokey, The River – Jordan Feliz, Lifer – MercyMe, Chain Breaker – Zach Williams

Contemporary Gospel/Urban Album of the Year:
Let Them Fall In Love – CeCe Winans, Worship Journal Live – Fred Hammond, One Way – Tamela Mann, Secret Place – VaShawn Mitchell, Demonstrate – William Murphy

Worship Album of the Year:
Never Lose Sight – Chris Tomlin, There Is a Cloud – Elevation Worship, Let There Be Light – Hillsong Worship, The Garden – Kari Jobe, Frontiers – Vertical Worship

Christmas/Special Event Album of the Year:
Tennessee Christmas – Amy Grant, Behold – Lauren Daigle, These Christmas Lights – Matt Redman
Beatitudes – Stu Garrard, The Shack: Music From and Inspired By the Original Motion Picture – Various

Short Form Video of the Year:
Jesus – Chris Tomlin, Run Devil Run – Crowder, Prada – Jimi Cravity, Trouble – New Respects, Bring On The Holidays – TobyMac

Long Form Video of the Year:
Let There Be Light – Hillsong Worship, Of Dirt & Grace – Hillsong United, Overflow – Planetshakers, Hits Deep Live – TobyMac

Inspirational Film of the Year:
Ben-Hur, I’m Not Ashamed, Priceless, The Case For Christ, The Shack

For the complete list, visit the GMA Dove Award website


promote my blog BrandBacker Member