American Ninja Warriors Did it Again

Team USA won 2017 "American Ninja Warrior: USA vs. the World.
Josh Levin, Jake Murray, Jessie Graff, Brian Arnold, Daniel Gil,
Drew Drechsel (Photo by: David Becker/NBC)


This year’s American Ninja Warrior: USA vs. the World TV special was different for two reasons. For one, Japan, the country where this show is based, was not one of the competitors. Instead, Team USA faced a Team Latin America along with Team Europe. The second change was it was the first time that a woman competitor was added to a team. Jessie Graff has already proved that she is a champ during the regular seasons of ANW, but last night, she was part of Team USA and her contribution became greater than anyone had expected.

The plan was for her to run just Stage 1, the easiest of the three stages, which she did and failed within seconds. During the first obstacle Graff quickly lost her balance, tumbled and was eliminated. She, along with just about everyone else watching, was shocked. And that was supposed to be her end for the night. But then it was announced that Drew Drechsel, who also run Stage 1 and was scheduled to run Stage 2, would sit it out and Graff would take his place in hopes of redeeming herself and allowing Drechsel to rest up for Stage 3. It was the best move of the night. Graff not only completed her second run, but she proved to everyone that she did indeed belonged on the USA team of six and a worthy opponent to all of the other competitors. The worst move of the night? The ridiculous tie-in with the upcoming Universal monster movie comparing The Mummy to a American Ninja Warrior.

In the end, Team USA (which consisted of Josh Levin, Jake Murray, Jessie Graff, Brian Arnold, Daniel Gil and Drew Drechsel) took home the giant trophy once again. This year’s regular season of American Ninja Warrior begins next Monday, June 12 at 8:00 p.m. on NBC.

promote my blog