The Meg is Closer to ‘Jaws’ Than ‘Sharknado’

MOVIE REVIEW When Steven Spielberg’s Jaws opened in theaters in 1975, it took the world by storm. Not only was the movie hugely popular as it was genuinely scary, it actually affected society in a strange way. Audiences began to have an irrational fear of sharks even when swimming at a lake. When Jaws 2 came to theaters three years later, everyone knew the catchphrase, “Just when you thought it was safe to go back into the water…” Since then, it’s been hard for movie studios to be able to drum up the same excitement with their own Jaws knock-offs. Shark movies became a joke. Even Jaws 3 and Jaws: The Revenge were met with disdain (and with good reason). But sharks are still a popular subject, just not one that we take very seriously anymore.
This brings us to next big shark movie, The Meg which judging from the trailers alone, looks like another campy knock-off movie and while it indeed is campy, it isn’t as much as you would think. When comparing movies, The Meg is closer to Jaws tha…

Guess Who Took Home the Mirror Ball Trophy?

Sharna Burgess, James Hinchcliffe, Artem Chigvintsev, Jenna Johnson, Jake T. Austin, 
Sasha Farber, Terra Jole, Allison Holkder, Jana Kramer, Emma Slater, Gleb Savchenko, 
Laurie Hernandez, Rick Perry, Valentine Chmerkovskiy, Amber Rose, Calvin Johnson Jr., 
Maureen McCormick, Vanilla Ice, Ryan Lochte and Lindsay Arnold (ABC)
In what seems like just a week ago that season 23 of Dancing with the Stars had just got started and now a new winning couple has been crowned. The final three couple competing in tonight’s broadcast were gymnast Laurie Hernandez and Val Chmerkovskiy, race car driver James Hinchcliffe and Sharna Burgess and footballer Calvin Johnson Jr. and Lindsay Arnold. But before the winning couple could be announced, tributes to all of the other dancing pairs had to be represented as well.

Filmed partly in the DWTS ballroom and partly at the retail center, The Grove, the night featured musical performances by Vanilla Ice, Kenny “Babyface” Edmunds and Jana Kramer (who all competed this season as well) and Andy Grammer.

As has been the tradition in recent seasons, the competition ended with one final routine called the “24-Hour Fusion Challenge” where the three remaining contenders had less than 24 hours to prepare and perform one last dance.

When it was all said and done, Laurie Hernandez and Val Chmerkovskiy danced away with the prize.

promote my blog