Look! Up in the Sky! It’s a Bird! A Plane! Jesus?

Here’s to good intentions. DC Comics has announced that the comic book giant will be releasing a new parody series based on Jesus Christ through the companies DC Vertigo line. The adult graphic novel was written by Mark Russell with artwork created by Richard Pace and will arrive on store shelves on March 6, 2019.

A far cry from earlier religious comics from Spire in the 1970's, this new one will be tried out as a limited series but could becoming a regular one if it becomes popular. Second Coming is described by DC as follows:

“Witness the return of Jesus Christ, as He is sent on a most holy mission by God to learn what it takes to be the true messiah of mankind by becoming roommates with the world’s favorite savior: the all-powerful super hero Sun-Man, the Last Son of Krispex! But when Christ returns to Earth, he’s shocked to discover what has become of his gospel—and now, he aims to set the record straight.”

At this point, it’s hard to know if Russell, who has written a …

2016 Dove Award Winners

For King & Country and Tye Tribbet. (Dove Awards)
Last night, the 2016 GMA Dove Awards show was broadcast from the Trinity Broadcasting Network (TBN). This year's hosts were For King and Country and Tye Tribbet. It is no surprise that Chris Tomlin won for Song of the Year ("Good, Good Father") or that War Room won for Inspirational Film of the Year, but it was a bit of surprise to see DC Talk perform together.

This year’s winners include:
  • Song of the Year -"Good, Good Father" by Chris Tomlin
  • Songwriter of the Year - Lauren Daigle
  • Contemporary Christian Artist of the Year - for KING & COUNTRY
  • Southern Gospel Artist of the Year - Karen Peck & New River
  • Gospel Artist of the Year - Kirk Franklin
  • Artist of the Year - Lauren Daigle
  • New Artist of the Year - Jordan Feliz
  • Producer of the Year - Bernie Herms
  • Rap/Hip Hop Recorded Song of the Year - "Uncomfortable" by Andy Mineo
  • Rock/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year - "Happiness" by NEEDTOBREATHE
  • Pop/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year - "Trust In You" by Lauren Daigle
  • Inspirational Recorded Song of the Year - "Till I Met You" by Laura Story
  • Contemporary Gospel/Urban Recorded Song of the Year - "The Way That You Love Me" by Jonathan McReynolds
  • Worship Song of the Year - "No Longer Slaves" by Bethel Music
  • Worship Album of the Year - EMPIRES by Hillsong UNITED
  • Rap/Hip Hop Album of the Year - Therapy Session by NF
  • Rock/Contemporary Album of the Year - The Wonderlands: Sunlight & Shadows by Jon Foreman
  • Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year- This Is Not A Test by TobyMac
  • Contemporary Gospel/Urban Album of the Year - Losing My Religion by Kirk Franklin
  • Urban Worship Album of the Year - Sounds of Revival by William McDowell
  • Southern Gospel Album of the Year - Still by Booth Brothers
  • Long Form Video of the Year - "Hymns That Are Important To Us" directed by Joey + Rory
  • Inspirational Film of the Year-  "War Room" directed by Kendrick Brothers

promote my blog BrandBacker Member