Nominees for 44th GMA Dove Awards Announced


For most of us, yesterday was just like every other day. For others, like Cole Walowac, it was a big deal. The nominees for the 44th annual GMA Dove Awards were announced yesterday and he and his partner, Jon White of Capital Kings, found out that they were in the running. "We've always dreamed of winning a Dove Award!" says Cole. "To be able to have this amazing opportunity our first year and among so many of our talented peers is such a blessing!" Together, the electronic pop pair have been nominated for “New Artist of the Year” along with Colton Dixon, For King & Country, the Rhett Walker Band and Tasha Cobbs.

The folks at Six Step Records were a little surprised as well as it was announced that 17 nominations are from their label’s artists. Chris Tomlin (no surprise there) and Matt Redman have nine nominations each. Kristian Stanfill and Crowder received six each. Additionally, Redman, Tomlin, Stanfill, Crowder and the sixstepsrecords team received four more nominations for Passion: Let The Future Begin and Passion: White Flag, both of which are nominated in the “Special Event Album of the Year” and “Praise & Worship Album of the Year” categories.

Here are the nominees for some of the most popular categories:

Artist of the Year:
  • Chris Tomlin
  • Francesca Battistelli
  • Lecrae
  • Tamela Mann
  • TobyMac
Song of the Year:
  • “10,000 Reasons” - Matt Redman
  • “All I Can Do (Thank You)” Mikeschair,
  • “Break Every Chain” – Tasha Cobbs,
  • “Forgiveness” – Matthew West,
  • “From My Rags to His Riches” – Devin McGlamery,
  • “Greatly Blessed, Highly Favored” – Gaither Vocal Band,
  • “Hold On” – Canton Junction,
  • “I’m Learning” – Aaron & Amanda Crabb,
  • “Live Like That” – Sidewalk Prophets,
  • “Need You Now (How Many Times) – Plumb
  • “Not For a Moment (After All) – Meredith Andrews
  • “One Thing Remains” – Kristian Stanfill
  • “Redeemed” – Big Daddy Weave
  • “Sometimes I Wonder” – Ernie Haase & Signature Sound
  • “Take Him to the Place” – Aaron & Amanda Crabb
  • “Take Me to the King” – Tamela Mann
  • “The Proof of Your Love” – For King & Country
  • “What the Blood is For” – Jason Crabb
  • “Where I Belong” – Building 429
  • “Whom Shall I Fear (God of Angel Armies)”
  • “Why Can’t We” – The Isaacs
Rap/Hip Hop Song of the Year:
  • “Caught Dreaming” Andy Mineo
  • “Dangerous” – Group 1 Crew
  • “Hope” – Da T.R.U.T.H.
  • “I’m Good” – Trip Lee
  • “Tell the World” – Lecrae
  • Rock Song of the Year
  • “Perfect Life” – RED
  • “Resuscitate Me” – Remedy Drive
  • “Sick Of It” – Skillet
  • “Strike Back” – We As Humans
  • “Who We Are” – RED
Rock/Contemporary Song of the Year:
  • “Afterlife” – Switchfoot
  • “Keep Your Eyes Open” – NEEDTOBREATHE
  • “Never Gone” – Colton Dixon
  • “Reckless” – Jeremy Camp
  • “When Mercy Found Me” – Rhett Walker Band
Praise & Worship Song of the Year:
  • "10,000 Reasons (Bless the Lord)" -  Matt Redman
  • "Beautiful Things" - Gungor
  • "One Thing Remains" - Kristian Stanfill
  • "Redeemed"- Big Daddy Weave
  • "Whom Shall I Fear (God of Angel Armies)"-  Chris Tomlin
Pop/ Contemporary Album of the Year:
  • “Burning Lights” - Chris Tomlin
  • “Crave”  - for King & Country
  • “Eye On It” - TobyMac
  • “Need You Now” - Plumb
  • “OBB” - OBB
Country Album of the Year:
  • “A Thousand Little Things” - Point Of Grace,
  • “Back Home Again”-  Oak Ridge Boys
  • “Eyes Wide Open” - Jeff & Sheri Easter
  • “Hymns” - Guy Penrod
  • “Mercy” - Aaron & Amanda Crabb
The 2013 Dove Awards have some new changes this year including the elimination of some awards, combining or others and a brand new category that is not music related at all. This year marks the first time that faith-based films will be honored as well. The nominees for “Inspirational Film of the Year” are: Amazing Love: The Story of Hosea, Christmas with a Capital C, Courageous, Jerusalem Countdown, Love Begins, MONUMENTAL: In Search of America’s National Treasure, October Baby, The Bible, Travel the Road: Season One and Seven Days in Utopia.

This year’s Dove Awards will be held on Tuesday, October 15, 2013 – a change from the award show’s traditional summer time schedule. The event will take place Lipscomb University’s Allen Arena in Nashville, Tennessee. If you desire to attend in person, tickets can be fetched from anywhere from $15 to $200 and can be purchased online at For the rest of us, you can catch the show live on the UP network (formerly, GMC) and the presenters and performers will be announced soon. You can stay up to date with the schedule here.

promote my blog