Showing posts with label EPCOT. Show all posts
Showing posts with label EPCOT. Show all posts

Sunday, October 1, 2017

This Day in Pop Culture for October 1

The Walt Disney World Resort opened on October 1, 1971.

Walt Disney World Resort Opens

The Walt Disney World Resort is most visited vacation resort in the world boasting of an annual attendance of 52.5 million. Originally designed as a sister theme park to Disneyland, WDW opened its gates on this day in Bay Lake, Florida. Part of the plans called for an "Experimental Prototype Community of Tomorrow," (EPCOT) a planned city that would serve as a test bed for new innovations for city living. Though the end result was quite a bit different from the original plans, EPCOT also opened on this day in 1982. Later, the Disney/MGM Studios (now called Disney’s Hollywood Studios) opened in 1989 and Disney’s Animal Kingdom opened in 1999.

Tuesday, June 21, 2016

Disney And Lego Team Up To Bring ‘Frozen’ To TV And Bookshelves, Epcot Introduces New Ride

"Frozen" gets a Lego treatment.
Frozen in Lego form. (Disney)
Fans of Elsa and Anna rejoice as the Frozen phenomenon is continues. Today, Disney has announced a new partnership with the LEGO Group to present Frozen Northern Lights, a new original story featuring the characters from Arendelle, told in a series a new books and animated shorts. Meanwhile, over in Orlando, Florida, guests at Epcot are being treated to the grand opening of Frozen Ever After, a new ride located in the Norway pavilion.

Disney Frozen Northern Lights: Journey to the Lights, a new book published by Random House is a partnership between Disney and the LEGO Group and is set to be released in July. "Natural phenomenon meets cultural phenomenon in this all new story,” said Andrew Sugerman, executive vice president, Disney Publishing Worldwide. “We're excited to share this new adventure and offer fans great new ways to connect with their favorite characters thanks to a host of related books, digital games and activities."

Thursday, October 9, 2014

Video of the Day: Off Kilter's Final Performance

If you've been to Disney's EPCOT in recent years, you may have had the pleasure of seeing the group Off Kilter in the Canada section of the park. Here is the group's last performance at the park recorded just a few weeks ago. They will be sorely missed. (Video is by Cliff X Videos)