Wednesday, June 6, 2012

Petra Makes a Comeback

Petra, one of Christian music’s biggest and oldest bands, just won’t stop. Taking its’ name from the Greek word for “rock,” Petra was formed in 1972. In over 30 years, the band faced numerous changes and yet released 20 albums, selling nearly 10 million copies. They won four Grammy Awards and 10 Dove Awards.

The 1980’s were the peak of Petra’s career. The played in front of sold-out arenas nationwide, sold hundreds of thousands of albums each year and racked up numerous radio hits. Petra was the first rock band inducted into the Gospel Music Hall of Fame and the first Christian band whose memorabilia was included in the Hard Rock Cafe restaurant chain.

The band announced its’ retirement in 2005. Then, like other popular older bands, launched a farewell tour. Petra's 33-year career ended with a performance in the early hours of January 1, 2006. However, some band members were not ready to quit. Some of the band members subsequently reunited for concerts in 2007 and 2010. In November 2010, the resurrected band, re-named Classic Petra, released the CD “Back to the Rock” that featured new material and re-recordings from the ’80.

This year marks the 40th year of Petra. Classic Petra, whose team consists of Bob Hartman, Mark Kelly, John Lawry, Greg X Volz and Louie Weaver, will once again take the road and has just released “Petra: Best of the 80’s” album. The album features 10 of the group’s biggest hits: 
  • All Fired Up       
  • This Means War!             
  • Bema Seat         
  • The Coloring Song          
  • Judas' Kiss          
  • Mine Field         
  • He Came He Saw He Conquered              
  • It Is Finished     
  • More Power To Ya          
  • Thankful Heart 

 Other new music released this week includes:
  • “Not Guilty” (Single) by Darlene McCoy
  • “Conclusions” by Altars
  • “Vice Reverses” by Switchfoot
  • “Life Will Write the Words” by The Rocket Summer
  • “Lost Weekend” by Write This Down
  • “Wake Up” by Canopy Red
  • “Hope Rise” by Andy Tallman
  • “Higher” by Regina Belle
  • “We Have Not Heard” by The Sunrise

No comments:

Post a Comment

Let us know what you think!